At Modern Luxury, connection and community define who we are. We use cookies to improve the Modern Luxury experience - to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also may share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. We take your privacy seriously and want you to be aware that we have recently made changes to our Privacy Policy, which can be found here.


28th Anniversary Sports Spectacular Gala

| May 22, 2013 | Parties

Sports Spectacular organization presented the 28th Anniversary Sports Spectacular Gala at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza hotel in Los Angeles, celebrating the greatest names in sports and entertainment. This year’s event benefited the groundbreaking work of Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. Each year, Sports Spectacular partners with top athletes and world-class health professionals to improve lives through research, prevention and education.

Presenters and honorees included:
· Jason Collins - honored with the Inspirational Athlete of the Year award. Presented by Baron Davis.
· Hope Solo - received the Female Athlete of the Year award. Presented by Casey Wasserman.
· Colin Kaepernick - received the Breakout Player of the Year award. Presented by Jim Hill and John Salley.
· Chris Paul - honored with the Spirit Award. Presented by Gary Payton.
· Special tribute to Dr. Jerry Buss - presented by Jerry West. Award accepted by Johnny Buss.

· Beth Moskowitz (Sports Spectacular Executive Director) - honored with the Achievement Award.

The event was hosted by John Salley, Jim Hill and Kevin Frazier. Additional attendees included, Evan Lysacek, Holly Robertson Peete, DeAndre Jordan, Al Joyner, Elgin Baylor, Jessica Hardy, Larry Fitzgerald, Jim Everett, Chris Mann, Jarron Collins, Benji Weatherly and more.

Photography provided by Getty Images


Photography by: